Michel Benoit

 


Michel Benoit is a partner in Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt’s Montréal office, where he serves as the key Québec contact for the firm’s pensions and benefits department. He graduated from the Faculty of Law at McGill University in 1969, and was called to the Bar in Québec in 1970.


A leading mind in the field of pensions and employee benefits, he advises employers, pension funds and financial institutions on numerous issues including surplus entitlement, contribution holidays, plan administration expenses and governance. He frequently advises on executive compensation matters, including securitization of SERP arrangements, and appears regularly before pension regulators, arbitrators, tribunals and the courts.


His professional affiliations include serving as Chair of the Ad Hoc Group on Private Pensions of the Business and Industry Advisory Committee to the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development, and Chair of the Québec Bar Association Advisory Committee on Pensions, and as a member of the Association of Canadian Pension Management and the International Pension and Employee Benefits Lawyers Association.


M. Benoit is a frequent speaker at conferences sponsored by a number of national and international organizations, including the College of Corporate Directors (Québec).

Michel Benoit

 


Michel Benoit est associé au bureau montréalais d’Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt, où il joue le rôle de personne-ressource pour la section des régimes de retraite et des avantages sociaux du cabinet au Québec. Diplômé de la Faculté de droit de l’Université McGill, il a été admis au Barreau du Québec en 1970.


Spécialiste de pointe dans le domaine des régimes de retraite et des avantages sociaux, il conseille les employeurs, les caisses de retraite et les institutions financières sur de nombreuses questions, notamment le droit à l’excédent, les congés de cotisation, les frais d’administration des régimes et la gouvernance. Agissant fréquemment à titre de conseiller pour les questions reliées à la rémunération des cadres, dont la sécurisation des régimes complémentaires de retraite, il plaide régulièrement devant les organismes de réglementation des régimes de retraite, les arbitres et les tribunaux judiciaires et administratifs.


Ses affiliations professionnelles incluent notamment le mandat de président du groupe ad hoc sur les régimes de retraite privés du Comité consultatif de l’industrie et du commerce de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques, le mandat de président du Comité consultatif sur les pensions du Barreau du Québec, et le statut de membre de l’Association canadienne des administrateurs de régimes de retraite et de l’International Pension and Benefits Lawyers Association.


M. Benoit intervient régulièrement à titre de conférencier lors d’événements organisés par un certain nombre d’organisations nationales et internationales, dont le Collège des administrateurs de sociétés (Québec).