Phil Howell

 

Phil Howell was the superintendent of financial services and CEO of the Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO) from 2009 until his retirement at the end of 2014. During the 20 years prior to his FSCO appointment, Phil held several senior positions in the Ontario public service including deputy minister of two ministries, associate deputy minister of Finance, assistant deputy minister in the Office of Economic Policy, and chief economist for the province.


Over the past 15 years he has also served on more than a dozen boards of various public agencies and business enterprises, an accounting research institute, the Accounting Standards Oversight Council, and a not-for-profit community social agency.


Earlier in his career, Phil was employed as an economist by a major chartered bank, a major investment firm, the Conference Board of Canada, and the Bank of Canada. Trained as an economist, he holds an honours BA from York University, an MSc in economics from the London School of Economics, and has completed all but a dissertation in economics doctoral studies at the University of Toronto.


Currently Phil is a senior fellow at the C.D. Howe Institute and a part-time consultant.

Phil Howell

 

Phil Howell a été surintendant des services financiers et chef de la direction de la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (CSFO) de 2009 jusqu’à sa retraite à la fin de 2014. Au cours des 20 années précédant sa nomination à la CSFO, Phil a occupé plusieurs postes de direction au sein de la fonction publique de l’Ontario, dont celui de sous-ministres pour deux ministères, sous-ministre délégué des finances, sous-ministre délégué au Bureau des politiques économiques et économiste en chef de la province.


Au cours des 15 dernières années, il a également siégé à plus d’une douzaine de conseils d’administration d’organismes publics et d’entreprises, d’un institut de recherche comptable, du Conseil de surveillance de la normalisation comptable et d’une agence sociale communautaire à but non lucratif.


Au début de sa carrière, Phil était économiste au sein d’une grande banque à charte, d’une importante société de placement, du Conference Board du Canada et de la Banque du Canada. Formé en tant qu’économiste, il est titulaire d’un baccalauréat spécialisé de l’Université York, d’une maîtrise ès sciences en économie de la London School of Economics et a terminé tout sauf une thèse en économie doctorale à l’Université de Toronto.


Actuellement, Phil est un membre senior du C.D. Howe Institute et un conseiller à temps partiel.