Tricia O'Malley

 

Tricia O’Malley was twice Chair of the Canadian Accounting Standards Board (AcSB), from 1999 to 2001 and 2009 to 2010. Supported by AcSB staff, she now chairs the International Forum of Accounting Standard Setters, an informal association of bodies responsible for setting or reviewing accounting standards in their various jurisdictions.


Ms. O’Malley was a member of the AcSB’s Emerging Issues Committee from its inception in 1988 until 1997, when she was appointed Vice-chair of the board. As Vice-chair, she represented Canada on the G4+1 group of standard setters and on the Joint Working Group on Financial Instruments of national standard setters.


In 2001, she was a founding member of the International Accounting Standards Board (IASB), and served on it until 2007 before becoming its director of implementation activities until 2009.
Ms. O’Malley has also been a partner in the national assurance and professional practice group of KPMG Canada, where she consulted with partners and staff on complex client accounting issues, with particular emphasis on financial instruments and structured finance transactions.


A former chair of the Ontario Securities Commission’s Financial Disclosure Advisory Board, she has also been a member of the Independent Advisory Committee on Accounting and Auditing Matters of the Auditor General of Canada, and president of the Canadian Academic Accounting Association.


Ms. O’Malley is currently a member of the board and audit committee of Assuris—the entity responsible for protecting the benefits of Canadian life insurance policyholders—and Chair of the board of Stratford Summer Music.

Tricia O'Malley

 


Tricia O’Malley a présidé à deux reprises, de 1999 à 2001 et de 2009 à 2010, le Conseil des normes comptables (CNC) du Canada. Forte du soutien du personnel du CNC, elle dirige maintenant l’International Forum of Accounting Standard Setters, un regroupement non officiel d’organismes chargés d’établir et d’examiner les normes comptables dans leurs juridictions respectives.

 

Mme O’Malley a été membre du Comité sur les problèmes nouveaux du CNC, de sa création en 1988 jusqu’à ce qu’elle soit nommée vice-présidente du conseil d’administration en 1997. C’est à ce titre qu’elle a représenté le Canada au sein du groupe de normalisateurs G4+1 et du Groupe de travail mixte sur les instruments financiers des normalisateurs nationaux.

 

En 2001, elle a participé à la fondation de l’International Accounting Standards Board (IASB), où elle a siégé jusqu’en 2007, avant d’y occuper les fonctions de directrice des activités de mise en œuvre jusqu’en 2009.

 

Mme O’Malley a aussi été associée du service national de la certification et de la pratique professionnelle de KPMG Canada, où elle travaillait en collaboration avec d’autres associés et des membres du personnel à des dossiers de clients comportant des questions de comptabilité complexes, en particulier des questions liées aux instruments financiers et aux opérations de financement structuré.

Ancienne présidente du Conseil consultatif sur la divulgation de renseignements financiers de la Commission des valeurs mobilières de l’Ontario, elle a aussi été membre du Comité consultatif indépendant en matière de comptabilité et de vérification financière du Bureau du vérificateur général du Canada, et présidente de l’Association canadienne des professeurs de comptabilité.

 

Mme O’Malley siège actuellement à titre de membre au conseil d’administration et au comité de vérification d’Assuris, instance chargée de la protection des prestations des titulaires de polices d’assurance-vie canadiens, et elle est présidente du conseil d’administration du Stratford Summer Music.