About the ASOC | Actuarial Standards Oversight Council

History and Purpose

Since its creation by an Act of Parliament in 1965, the Canadian Institute of Actuaries (CIA) , the professional organization for the actuarial profession in Canada, was responsible for developing and enforcing actuarial Standards of Practice for the profession. In response to an increasing demand for all professions to demonstrate their regard for public interest, the CIA set up a Task Force on Corporate Governance in 2005 to look into creating an independent actuarial standard-setting process that would serve the public interest. Over the following two years, a new governance structure was approved and established by the CIA and as of January 1, 2007, Standards of Practice for Canadian actuaries were being developed by the independent Actuarial Standards Board (ASB).

As an independent body, the ASB could not formally report to the Board of the CIA. The Actuarial Standards Oversight Council (ASOC) was therefore, also established by the CIA on January 1, 2007, in order to oversee and provide input into the activities of the ASB.

The ASOC has a broad, public-oriented perspective of the complex issues facing the ASB, due to the composition of its membership, which is made up of savvy, experienced individuals from inside and outside the actuarial profession.

While actuarial Standards of Practice are developed independently, the CIA also has a Practice Council that works closely with the ASB, to develop further educational materials and other guidance for actuaries with regard to the Standards.

The ASOC’s Terms of Reference have been approved by both the CIA Board and the ASOC itself.

À propos de nous | Conseil de surveillance des normes actuarielles
Site Web

Histoire et but

Depuis sa constitution par une loi du Parlement en 1965, l’Institut canadien des actuaires (ICA), l’organisme professionnel de la profession actuarielle au Canada, est chargé de l’Élaboration et de la régie des normes actuarielles pour la profession. Suite à l’intensification de la exercée sur les professions afin qu’elles fassent la preuve qu’elles tiennent compte de l’intérêt public, l’ICA a mis sur pied, en 2005, un Groupe de travail sur la gouvernance d’entreprise chargé d’étudier la mise en place d’un processus indépendant d’établissement des normes qui veillerait à servir l’intérêt public. Au cours des deux années suivantes, une nouvelle structure de gouvernance a été approuvée et mise en place par l’Institut. Depuis le 1er janvier 2007, les normes de pratique pour les actuaires canadiens sont élaborées par une entité indépendante, le Conseil des normes actuarielles (CNA).

À titre d’entité indépendante, le CNA ne pouvait pas relever formellement du Conseil d’administration de l’ICA. Le Conseil de surveillance des normes actuarielles (CSNA) a donc également été mis sur pied par l’ICA le 1er janvier 2007 afin de superviser et de fournir de la rétroaction au sujet des activités du CNA.

Le CSNA jouit d’une vaste perspective des difficultés complexes auxquelles fait face le CNA grâce à la vaste expérience de son effectif composé d’actuaires et de personnes de l’extérieur de la profession.

Bien que les normes de pratique actuarielle soient élaborées de façon indépendante, l’ICA s’est doté d’une Direction de la pratique actuarielle qui travaille en étroite collaboration avec le CNA afin d’élaborer du matériel didactique et autres conseils pour les actuaires à l’égard des normes.

Le mandat du CSNA a été approuvé par le Conseil d’administration de l’ICA ainsi que par le CSNA lui-même.