About the ASOC | Actuarial Standards Oversight Council

Message from Chair

Welcome to the website of the Actuarial Standards Oversight Council (ASOC), which aims to answer your questions about the council’s activities, meetings, and members.

ASOC was formed in 2007 by the Canadian Institute of Actuaries (CIA), in keeping with the Institute’s Guiding Principle 1: the actuarial profession’s duty to the public is held above the needs of the profession and its members.

Canada’s actuarial standards are established by the Actuarial Standards Board (ASB) and must be regularly reviewed to incorporate technical, financial, environmental, and legislative changes. ASOC’s role is to ensure that the entire process to develop and review those standards satisfies the public interest, i.e., that the process is objective and is independent from any conflicts and pressures.

The ASB’s members deal with many complex and diverse issues. The members of ASOC are highly experienced professionals with diverse backgrounds that bring a broad perspective, from the points of view of users and the public, to the strategic plans of the ASB.

Providing independent oversight of and input to the ASB, ASOC’s members lend their expertise and time to serve the public interest.

We encourage any comments or questions you may have about our activities, and invite your input.

Tricia O’Malley
Chair, ASOC

À propos de nous | Conseil de surveillance des normes actuarielles
Site Web

Message de la présidente

Bienvenue sur le site Web du Conseil de surveillance des normes actuarielles (CSNA), lequel vise à répondre à vos questions concernant les activités, les réunions et les membres du Conseil.

Le CSNA a été constitué en 2007 par l’Institut canadien des actuaires (ICA), conformément au premier principe directeur de l’Institut, selon lequel l’Institut fait passer l’intérêt du public avant les besoins de la profession et de ses membres.

Les normes actuarielles du Canada sont établies par le Conseil des normes actuarielles (CNA) et doivent faire l’objet d’une révision régulière visant à y inclure des modifications d’ordre technique, financier, environnemental et législatif. Le rôle du CSNA consiste à veiller à ce que le processus complet d’élaboration et de révision soit conforme à l’intérêt public; c’est-à-dire de s’assurer de l’objectivité du processus et de veiller à ce que celui-ci soit libre de tout conflit ou toute pression.

Les membres du CNA sont confrontés à de nombreux enjeux complexes et diversifiés. Les membres du CSNA sont des professionnels chevronnés possédant des antécédents divers qui apportent aux plans stratégiques du CNA une perspective large, des points de vue des utilisateurs et du public.

Assurant une surveillance indépendante du CNA et formulant à celui-ci des avis et des commentaires, les membres du CSNA mettent leur expertise et leur temps au service de l’intérêt public.

Nous vous invitons à formuler vos commentaires et vos questions au sujet de nos activités et sommes ouverts à votre opinion.

La présidente du Conseil de surveillance des normes actuarielles,

Tricia O’Malley